Car Insurance in South Dakota in 2019

Car Insurance in South Dakota ranks among the best to save on car insurance. South Dakota, It is also known for the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally held in Sturgis, SD, which attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors every summer. Wherever your destination lies, make sure you have the right car insurance in South Dakota for your vehicle.

the differences between insurance companies are bigger in South Dakota than in most states because each car insurance companies in Dakota use its own method in calculating rates, it’s very possible for you to overpay if you don’t compare car insurance in South Dakota to see who has the lowest price.

Having an affordable quote to rely on is quite awesome, but being able to trust your auto insurance company to be there for you is the most important. A few dollars saved might not seem worth it when you can’t get your insurance company to pay your claim.

its very necessary to carry a minimum amount of car insurance in South Dakota because the state law requires you. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines. in South Dakota, if you are found to be at fault in a car accident, you can be sued for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering. However, South Dakota also allows you to purchase personal injury protection.

The bare minimum car insurance requirement for South Dakota drivers is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability
  • $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist

South Dakota does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.

Largest car insurance companies for South Dakota

RankCompany / GroupDirect Premiums Written ($)Market Share (%)
1State Farm Group81,18918.75
2Progressive Insurance Group62,29614.39
3Amer Family Insurance Group47,08310.87
4Farmers Insurance Group24,3485.62
5Nationwide Group21,5504.98
6De Smet Insurance Group19,0124.39
7Farm Bureau P&C Group18,1504.19
8Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of NE17,4864.04
9USAA Group15,7153.63
10Berkshire Hathaway Insurance12,4092.87
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.

below we have compiled Top  Picks for Car Insurance in South Dakota:


  1. State Farm
  2. GEICO
  3. Allstate
  4. Safeco Insurance
  5. American Family Insurance
  6. Farmers
InsurerMy quote
State Farm$339
Safeco Insurance$564
American Family Insurance$710

After comparing all six quotes above, Its very surprising as I found $562 in savings between the highest and lowest quotes. State Farm top by winning the low bid at $399; GEICO coming in a close second place at $364. Allstate and Safeco both hit the $500 mark, but American Family and Farmers were considerably higher. Don’t let those numbers make you cringe, though: every person will have a different experience. Make sure to check all of your options no matter what, even if they were high for me, they might be low for you. Definitely check your options for upgraded coverage as well. Remember: A few extra dollars per year can make a world of difference in the event of an accident.

car insurance in South Dakota Teen Driving Laws

Learner’s Permit

Teens may be eligible to apply for a South Dakota Learner’s Permit beginning at age 14. They must pass a vision and written knowledge test. Learner’s permits are valid for one year and allow the permit holder to drive only while accompanied by a licensed driver 18 years of age or older in the front passenger seat. Teen drivers must hold their learner’s permit for 180 days (or 90 days if they have completed a state-approved driver education course) before being eligible to apply for a Restricted Minor’s permit.

Restricted Minor’s Permit

Teens at least 14 years of age who have completed the requirements of the Learner’s Permit and passed a vision, knowledge and driving test may be eligible to receive a Restricted Minor’s Permit. It allows the holder to drive unaccompanied only between the hours of 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM. Between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM, the driver must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian in the front passenger seat. The permit is valid for 5 years or until age 18, whichever comes first, at which time the driver is graduated to an unrestricted Operator’s License.

South Dakota’s Minimum Coverage

The Bare Minimum

South Dakota requires a driver to prove financial responsibility in order to legally drive on its highways. The easiest and most common way is to prove your solvency is by maintaining liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage; the alternate routes include filing a $50,000 bond with the state treasury. Minimum limits for liability coverages, which covers costs you must pay in an accident that is deemed to be your fault, are $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 property damage. Uninsured/underinsured coverage, which kicks in for damage done to you by an uninsured or underinsured driver, must meet $25,000 bodily injury per person and $50,000 per accident.

Settling for cheap car insurance in Dakota could be the difference between a financial crisis and a minor financial setback. Take a look at these to stats:

  • Every 17.9 years the average driver will be involved in a motor vehicle accident. Let’s say that we are not an exception to the rule.
  • The average cost of an accident that causes a disabling, but the nonfatal injury is $79,400 per person. Damaging an expensive car or property in the process will cost a great deal more.

With South Dakota’s minimum coverage — which includes a $25,000 bodily injury limit — I could be on the hook for more than $55,000 out of pocket, not to mention the possible property damage I’d be liable for if the $25,000 in property damage allotted didn’t fully cover those damages.

You might think that an upgrade will cost a lot, and that it’s worth it to take the risk for the immediate savings. In fact, half of my quotes for a 50/100/50 policy were cheaper than half of my quotes for minimum coverage. For example, Allstate’s upgraded coverage was $340 less expensive per year than Farmers’ minimum coverage. Even with upgraded coverage averaging $136 more per year than minimum policies (according to my quotes), that’s only $2,448 more over 18 years. That extra payout could save you $25,000, if you find yourself in a worst-case scenario. To me, the extra coverage. And honestly, if you haven’t gotten at least a handful of quotes lately, you might already be paying more than you need to and still getting worse coverage.

If You Skip Coverage, It’ll Cost You

It’s never a good idea to go without coverage. If you are unable to provide proof of insurance to an officer of the peace when requested in a traffic stop, you will face problems: fines up to $100, jail time up to 30 days, suspension or revocation of your driver’s license and registration for up to a year, and mandatory filing of an SR-22 document for three years. An SR-22 is the same document that those convicted of driving under the influence must fill out in order to drive on the roadways legally. If you file one, you can say goodbye to low rates for a long time.

Leave a Comment